About

Miriam Cohen is an Assistant Professor of international law and human rights. She is a researcher at the Centre de recherche en droit prospectif (CRDP) and the Centre international de criminologie comparée (CICC) at University of Montréal. She is the author of “Realizing Reparative Justice for International Crimes” published with Cambridge University Press (2020). She has published widely in the fields of international law, human rights, international criminal law and reparations, and her research has appeared in leading law reviews and books in Canada, Europe, the United States, South Korea, and Brazil. She is a Rapporteur for the Oxford University Press International Organisations (OXIO) project. Her research has been supported by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), the Canadian Bar Association, the Canadian Council on International Law, the Foundation for Legal Research, among others. She is the Principal Investigator and Co-investigator of funded interdisciplinary projects in international law and human rights, and she leads a comparative human rights research project with Pro Bono Students Canada (PSBC). She earned her PhD in international law from Leiden University, and Masters of Laws (LLM) from Harvard Law School, from the University of Cambridge and from University of Montreal. 

As an international lawyer (member of the Quebec Bar), Dr. Cohen has acted as Counsel for Panama before the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea. She is a member of the Boards of Directors of the Canadian Council on International Law (CCIL) and the Société québécoise de droit international (SQDI). She is originally from Brazil, and she consults, researches or teaches in English, French, Portuguese and Spanish.

She joined University of Montreal from the Bora Laskin Faculty of Law at Lakehead University where she was Co-Editor in Chief of the Lakehead Law Journal and Chair of the Faculty of Law Diversity Comittee. Prior to joining academia, Dr. Cohen gained extensive experience in the legal departments of international organizations. She served in legal advisory roles at the United Nation's International Court of Justice (ICJ) and previously at the Appeals Chamber of the International Criminal Court (ICC). Dr. Cohen also worked at the Office of the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court, dealing primarily with appellate proceedings. She worked at an international firm in Montreal and in pro bono cases. Dr. Cohen was previously a Research Fellow at Harvard Law School, served as Rapporteur to an Expert Committee on a Draft Convention on Crimes against Humanity, and was part of a delegation to an arms control treaty negotiation at the United Nations, in Geneva. 

This content has been updated on 25 March 2021 at 12 h 53 min.

Miriam

Spécialiste du droit international et du droit international des droits humains, Miriam Cohen est Professeure agrégée à l’Université de Montréal où elle mène un programme de recherche et donne des cours en droit international public et droit international des droits humains. Elle est auteure du livre Realizing Reparative Justice for International Crimes: From Theory to Practice, auprès de la Cambridge University Press (2020). Elle est chercheuse au Centre de recherche en droit prospectif (CRDP) et au Centre international de criminologie comparée (CICC). La professeure Cohen est titulaire d’un doctorat en droit international de l’Université de Leiden (Pays-Bas), elle détient également un LL.M. en droit international des droits humains de l’Université de Harvard, un LL.M. en droit international de l’Université de Cambridge, et un LL.M. avec mémoire et un LL.B. de l’Université de Montréal. Elle a obtenu les bourses Frank Knox Memorial Fellowship et John Peters Humphrey à la Faculté de droit de Harvard, la bourse d’études Paul Martin père à l’Université de Cambridge et une bourse de maîtrise du CRSH à l’Université de Montréal.

Avant d’entamer sa carrière universitaire, la professeure Cohen a acquis une vaste expérience au sein d’organisations internationales. Elle a travaillé au sein du département juridique à la Cour internationale de justice des Nations Unies (CIJ) et, antérieurement, à la Chambre d’appel et au Bureau du Procureur de la Cour pénale internationale (CPI).

La professeure Cohen était auparavant chercheuse à la Faculté de droit de Harvard, rapporteur d’un comité d’experts sur un projet de convention concernant les crimes contre l’humanité, et membre d’une délégation lors d’une négociation d’un traité aux Nations Unies, à Genève. De 2015 à 2018, elle a été professeure adjointe en droit à l’Université de Lakehead (Ontario) où elle a donné des cours en droit international et droit public interne. En tant que membre du Barreau du Québec, elle a agi en qualité de conseillère juridique (experte en droit international) pour la République du Panama devant le Tribunal international du droit de la mer, elle a pratiqué dans un grand cabinet à Montréal et également dans des causes pro bono. 

Récipiendaire de plusieurs prix, bourses et subventions, notamment du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), de l’Association du Barreau canadien (Fonds pour le droit de demain) et de la Fondation pour la recherche juridique, elle collabore avec plusieurs équipes de recherche interdisciplinaires et internationales, et elle dirige de grands projets de recherche interdisciplinaires dans le domaine du droit international des droits humains. Ses recherches ont été publiées dans des revues juridiques et des ouvrages au Canada, en Europe, aux États-Unis, en Corée du Sud et au Brésil (son pays d’origine).  Avocate membre du Barreau du Québec,  la professeure Cohen est régulièrement sollicitée par le réseau du droit international à titre de consultante et de formatrice. En outre, elle est rapporteur pour le projet de Oxford University Press sur les organisations internationales, et membre des Conseils d’administration du Conseil canadien de droit international et de la Société québécoise de droit international. Elle travaille en français, anglais, portugais et espagnol.

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 5 janvier 2022 à 22 h 06 min.